Breakfast: Cheese Blintzes and Smoothie Cleanse

O! I made some breakfast for my sister and I this morning. And because my mom is on this 3 day smoothie cleanse she saw on Dr. Oz, I decided to join her just as an added touch to my meal.
A blintz is a thin crepe-like pancake filled with cheese.

DSCN6277

The crepe recipe is 1 egg, 3/4 cup pancake mix (just add water), 1/2 cup water, 1/3 cup sugar, tsp vanilla, pinch of salt. For the cheese filling, I mixed together 1 cup lowfat ricotta cheese, 1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 egg yolk, 2 tsp fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp vanilla, pinch of salt .

What I did was cook one side of the crepe and take it off the pan, fill the center with a spoonful of cheese and then folded it to go back on the pan for another minute. I thought it might be heavy because I the cheese but it was super light, I added a strawberry topping, AND my sister ate it, which is saying a lot. For the strawberry topping, the ingredients were, 2 cups chopped fresh strawberries, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp cornstarch. I put the sugar and strawberries in a saucepan on medium heat until it came to a boil and then added the cornstarch. 

And as for the smoothie, it had blueberry, mango, avocado, cayenne pepper, coconut water, lemon juice, kale, and flaxseed. I can almost feel my body cleansing itself! Almost. Since you told me about the whole eating healthy thing you should really try out the 3-day cleanse by Dr. Oz. Mom swears by it. Missing you.

-J

One thought on “Breakfast: Cheese Blintzes and Smoothie Cleanse

Leave a Reply

